Book Reviews

ARC Book Review: Any boy but you by Julie Hammerle

Title: Slight and Shadow
Series : North Pole, Minnesota
Author: Julie Hammerle
Published: February 13, 2017
Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World WideFrom Goodreads

Elena Chestnut has been chatting with an anonymous boy late into the night. It’s a very You’ve Got Mail situation, and she has no idea who he is. He can’t be Oliver Prince, hot-and-bashful son of the family running the rival sporting goods store. Their fancy sales strategies are driving Elena’s family out of business. Elena’s mystery boy has teamed up with her in their latest sales strategy, an augmented reality game, to help her win the grand-prize plane tickets. Money’s so tight Elena’s going to miss senior year spring break with her friends if she can’t win this game.

The girl Oliver’s fallen head-over-heels for online had better not be Elena Chestnut. She’s his angry, vindictive Latin tutor, the daughter of his dad’s business rival, and the one girl he’d never even think of kissing. She’s definitely not his online crush, because that girl is funny, sweet, and perfect.

When Oliver asks to reveal their names at the Valentine’s Day dance, their IRL relationship will either ruin what they have online, or they’ll discover just how thin the line between love and hate really is.

Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains swearing, snowball fights, and sexual tension that could melt the North Pole. Read at your own risk.

*This book was received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

First of all, I was sold by the cover of this book and also the synopsis of it. The cynical side of me was debating “should I read this? It’s a book about teenage crushes and what not for goodness sake!” Well I didn’t hesitate to click on the request button in Netgalley. So I would love to thank this opportunity to have me read this book. So let’s get on with it!

I will try to be spoiler free on this review but I am not making any promises.

To be honest I thought that this book will be those typical teen crushes/romance book that I’ve read when I was in high school or the few books that I’ve read and skipped in Wattpad. And let me tell you there maybe a lot of hidden treasures but there are some in that site I can’t even stomach or get past chapter one. 😰😓

I was quite surprise that I enjoyed the book. At first few chapters I got the idea why the title ‘any boy but you’. Elena and Oliver’s family has been in a feud since the time of their grandparents. Something about not agreeing on a business arrangement, I will just stop to that. 😅

Reading through the whole book I struggled a little but I want to finish it so I can give a fair review. I was amazed that Elena’s family’s store is still standing even with the little customers they have. I noticed that Elena has a bit of an attitude at the beginning which I can empathize with her. Yeah I’ve been there before.

So I continued on reading and I felt all the fluff and puff of this teen romance book. My cynical side usually cringes to corny fluff romances, especially teens but this is not like those typical books. The other factor that save this book was Oliver and the supporting characters, mainly Harper. I love the girl, reminds me of my sassy BFF! As for Oliver, he is such a cynical robot, which my cynical side was happy about.😂 I mean a fellow computer geek? Yay!

The biggest turn of for me is their parents *spoiler* Why!? Why did that kiss was added there? I know that they had history but come on please! It’s a cliche that I didn’t like 😓

Back to Harper, can we have more of her? Or is the author planning to write a book about her in the series? Her character is very interesting and watching her come out it’s enlightening.

The setting of the story is in a small town in the middle of nowhere surrounded by constant winter. I can relate to the small town but I want the cold weather. Been living in a tropical country my whole life. Anyway, the town has it’s own character too. The ending is cute and fluffy which really fits the story.

If this book was a dish then this book was made just right. The right amount of fluff and puff romance, character development and also the conflict. It’s like in the grey area not too boring or not to overwhelming which it is better to read this book when your enjoying the day relaxing and doing nothing so you can appreciate it. I give this one a 4 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ and I am looking forward for more of Hammerle’s works.

The book is not available for pre-order in book depository but you can check Hammerle’s other works here.


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | Book Depository | Tumblr

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.