Book Reviews

My thoughts on ‘The Servant Boy’ Reesha Goral

From Goodreads

The Servant Boy highlights the adventures of Zayne Shah, a young man who lives through the most horrific disaster his village, Saidpur, has ever seen. An epidemic has unknowingly raged through Saidpur and is taking the lives of umpteen folk before his eyes. Zayne is determined to find a cure to the mystery, at whatever the cost may be, even if that cost is a price he cannot presently afford.

Zayne goes through a series of ups and downs as he takes you with him, embracing life through vivid details, all of which include paradoxes that anyone from any walk of life can relate to: life and death, happiness and grief, love and envy, friendship and animosity.

Although The Servant Boy is a multicultural novel, and will appeal to those that will enjoy learning about the colorful and vibrant culture of Pakistan, it will also enchant those who enjoy mystery, fantasy, adventure, friendship, and romance. There is something in the novel for everyone.


So before I start on my review, I got a pdf copy of this book from the author, via email, for an honest review.

To be honest I didn’t have high expectations on this book since I haven’t encountered a book like this. I don’t even remember if a read a multicultural book but I was sold by the synopsis of the book also the opportunity to read and review this one.

I got curious after I read the synopsis, as a Filipino Muslim I am always curious in the middle eastern culture since our Islamic culture here has some similarities and also differences.

πŸ˜„ So on to my thoughts on this book. I am not being bias on this but I fell in love with the book. It’s a full 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟, the main character Zayne is such a cinnamon-roll that I want to keep him forever. Any girl would be lucky to have him, such a sweetheart. Heck even my parents would love for me to find a man like him, especially my father.Β πŸ˜…

*Warning note, I might write some spoilers since I can’t contain myself, this book is just too good.”

In the first few chapters, I cried. Literally tears streaming down my face.

I am those readers the empathizes with the characters emotions and I totally feel Zayne’s heartbreak that he can’t get the girl he loves because of his status in life. 😭 Everything is not what I expected but it kept me wanting more of it.

I may not have been to Pakistan once in my life but I think the author captured the culture to this book, which is a wonderful feat. Since this is a rags to riches story, I love that the author made Zayne’s character develop throughout the story. I usually expect rags to riches story a bit fast pace like ‘boom!’ he became rich instantly. “Wait what?..”

Yeah I’ve encountered a few like that. Mostly in fanfiction or WattpadΒ πŸ˜…. But still I love a good character development after those quick contemporary reads I’ve been doing during in college. However, I was not sure of the relevance of people dropping like flies been sprayed by Baygon in the story. I get it says in the synopsis that there was an epidemic, so being the curious cat that I am, I continued on reading. The killer mermaid in the well was nice touch, not that necessary but I love a good mystery, it didn’t looked out of place when I continued reading but when I think about it, I was like ‘killer mermaid?”

So anyway, I was quite happy that Zayne got everything what he really deserves and also for marrying Gapoori. I already sensed that this girl cares about Zayne even when he was just a humble servant boy. She really knows how to take care of her man and nurture him. “Aaah.. love”

Lastly I understood on what Zayne said that he will always be a servant boy. He serves his customers, his family, and also Allah.

😌 Hopefully I will get a physical copy of this someday. Sadly that it’s not available in our local bookstores so that’s why I have settle for the ebook version if I want to read it all over again. I am looking forward for Reesha Goral’s next work, she has great potential. 😊

If you want your own copy, you can order the book in Book Depository


Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest | Goodreads | Book Depository | Tumblr

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.